Author Topic: Auto-success & failure  (Read 641 times)

Offline Hero

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1939
    • View Profile
Auto-success & failure
« on: November 14, 2017, 08:55:02 PM »
So I was wondering if skill checks auto-succeed on a natural 20?

I scoured the PHB, and from what I can tell, the answer is "no." The only sections where auto-success on a 20 and auto-failure on a 1 are specifically addressed are in the attack roll and saving throw sections.

So does that mean if it's not specifically called out, it doesn't apply? Means that skill checks, caster level checks, dispel checks, grapple checks, trip attempts, etc. do not auto-succeed or auto-fail.

I guess that makes sense. You can't try to jump across the ocean and succeed 5% of the time. A 1st level caster can't overcome the SR of a great wyrm. A greater dispel magic will always dispel a 1st level caster.

Is that how we play it?
« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 08:56:59 PM by Hero »

Offline Asinjin

  • DM
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7695
    • View Profile
    • Habololy
Re: Auto-success & failure
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 08:21:53 AM »
Skill checks do not auto succeed.  If you cannot achieve the DC, you can't make the skill check.  The logic here would be higher skill checks allow for greater accomplishments.  So you could try for a DC100 effect with a +1 and make it if we allowed auto skill success.  That is how we have always played it.

Any opposed rolls cannot be auto success, because in theory is each side rolled a d20, what would you do?
The hand that rolls the Dice rules the world.